Sokoine University of Agriculture Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

This website highlights the main activities of the faculty with the aim of ensuring excellence in provision of knowledge and understanding of animal and human diseases. It is my hope that you will be able to access relevant information in this website either for business, academic or social reasons, or as a client or researcher, as a prospective student or a graduate. I would also like to take this opportunity to welcome you in person to the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine where I hope you will witness our commitment to animal and public health services provision.

Regulations and Guidelines for Postgraduate Studies

General regulations and guidelines for higher degrees of the Sokoine University of Agriculture shall be applicable, exceptions are indicated below.

Minimum Entry Qualifications:

The following shall be eligible for registration for the MPVM degree.

A holder of a Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine (BVM) of Sokoine University of Agriculture or its equivalent. In addition, the candidate shall be required to have scored at least FIVE B grades or its equivalent in the undergraduate BVM Programme.

Duration of registration period:

The programme shall be of 12-month duration consisting of coursework, one of the courses shall be a research course. The last 3 months of the programme will be reserved for the research project course only. The maximum period of registration including extensions shall not exceed 18 months.

The history of Sokoine University of Agriculture dates back to 1965 when it started as an Agricultural College offering diploma training in the discipline of agriculture.

The history of Sokoine University of Agriculture dates back to 1965 when it started as an Agricultural College offering diploma training in the discipline of agriculture. With the dissolution of the University of East Africa and the consequent establishment of the University of Dar es Salaam (UDSM) in July 1970, the College was transformed into a Faculty of Agriculture of UDSM and thereby started offering Bachelor of Science in Agriculture. In 1974, the Division of Forestry was established and hence the faculty was named Faculty of Agriculture and Forestry. The introduction of Bachelor of Veterinary Science in 1976 and the establishment of the Division of Veterinary Science, the Faculty was re-named “Faculty of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Sciences”. The Faculty was on the 1st of July 1984 transformed, through Parliamentary Act No. 6 of 1984, into a full-fledged University and became known as Sokoine University of Agriculture (SUA) with the Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Forestry and Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.

Currently SUA has four faculties namely; the Faculty of Agriculture (FoA), Faculty of Forestry and Nature Conservation (FoF & NC), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine (FVM) and the Faculty of Science (FoS), the latter which was established in 2001. Other academic units include the Directorate of Research and Postgraduate Studies (DRPGS), Institute of Continuing Education (ICE), Development Studies Institute (DSI), Computer Centre (CC), Pest Management Centre (PMC), SUA Centre for Sustainable Rural Development (SCSRD) and the Sokoine National Agriculture Library (SNAL). SUA also hosts the African Seed Health Centre and Virtual Centre known as “Southern African Centre for Infectious Disease Surveillance”.

The university which is located in Morogoro Municipality has 3,350 ha of land for training, research and production in Morogoro municipality; 840 ha of forest land in Arusha; 320 ha of virgin forest for research in Usambara Mountains in Tanga and 500 ha of miombo woodlands in Kitulanghalo in Morogoro region. The university has for campuses namely, the Main Campus within Morogoro municipality; Solomon Mashlangu Campus (SMC) in Morogoro municipality; SUA Training Forest (SUATF) Olmotonyi in Arusha region and Mazumbai Forestry Reserve in Tanga region. The University also has one Constituent College, the Moshi University College of Cooperatives and Business Studies (MUCCoBS) which is located at the foot of Mount Kilimanjaro in Moshi Municipality.

SUA’s academic business is guided by the university’s vision and missions as well as the Corporate Strategic plan (2005-2010), the latter that spells out plans in keeping with university’s core missions and functions as well as the need to remain competitive. The Vision of the university is “To become a center of excellence and a valued member of the global academic community in agriculture and other related fields with emphasis on implementing practical skills, entrepreneurship, research and integration of basic and applied knowledge in an environmentally friendly manner”. The vision is guided through the mission, which is “To promote development through training, research, extension, provision of services to the public and private sector in an environmentally friendly manner”.

SUA is currently offering 24 undergraduate and 39 postgraduate programmes in agriculture, forestry and veterinary medicine, environmental sciences and allied disciplines. To date, SUA is the only university, amongst 34 universities and university colleges in Tanzania that offers degree programmes in the broad field of agriculture. In addition, SUA offers degree programmes in Information Technology (i.e. B.Sc. Informatics) and Education.

On the other hand, MUCCoBS offers non-degree, Bachelor and postgraduate programmes in the disciplines of cooperative and business studies.

SUA’s main research objective is to provide leadership in basic and applied research in order to generate science evidence knowledge and innovations that respond to contemporary and emerging needs. SUA thus emphasizes that research becomes linked to development and societal issues. Research, outreach and consultancy services are driven by trained agricultural and natural resource manpower base that comprises 452 academic staff, out whom 50% have PhD qualifications. Research capacity at SUA is further enhanced through collaborative research projects, which are supported by more than 50 memoranda of understanding. Currently, there are a number of ongoing research projects.

Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *