Veterinary university colleges and schools in all countries

Used to viewFlash Player 9 or higher.

Show all tags

The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies

The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary StudiesHistory
The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies was founded in 1823 by William Dick William Dick William Dick was an outstanding practitioner who made great strides in establishing veterinary education in Scotland. Besides setting up the School in 1823, he was appointed Veterinary Surgeon in Scotland to Queen Victoria in 1844. By the time of his death in 1866, the 818 students he had taught were to be found throughout the world.
Among them were the founders of veterinary schools in Glasgow, Liverpool, Ireland, Canada, the USA and Australia. Clyde Street Veterinary College In the autumn of 1829 William Dick’s lectures were given in Clyde Street, probably in the old building at number 8. It was in Clyde Street that Dick first trained as a farrier at his father's forge.

Accreditation
The School is widely accredited so our graduates can practice in the UK and Europe and also enjoy the same status as someone who graduated from a similarly accredited establishment in the USA or Canada.

Accreditation logos

Our undergraduate courses are accredited by:

  • The European Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education (EAEVE)

The degree of Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery (BVM&S) is the equivalent of the North American Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) and has the same standing worldwide


How to find us

In addition to our main campus at Easter Bush, we also have facilities at Summerhall, near Edinburgh city centre, plus a 250 hectare livestock farm at Langhill. All locations have convenient public transport links.

The Easter Bush Campus

The Easter Bush campus is located approximately eight miles south of Edinburgh city centre.

Easter Bush Veterinary Centre, Roslin, Midlothian, EH25 9RG

Buses

The nearest bus stops are located outside the Easter Bush Main building:

Parking

Parking at the Easter Bush Campus is by permit only and subject to the University's parking regulations, with clearly signed visitor and hospital client parking areas.

The Summerhall Buildings

The Summerhall buildings are located approximately one mile south of Edinburgh city centre close to the Meadows public park.

1 Summerhall Square, Edinburgh, EH9 1QH

Buses

The nearest bus stops are:

Parking

Parking at the Summerhall buildings is by permit only and subject to the University's parking regulations, with limited facilities for visitor parking.

Limited on-street metered parking is available at Summerhall Square with the nearest off-street car park at St Leonard's Street (0.2 miles away).

The Langhill Farm steading

The Langhill Farm steading is located approximately eight miles south of Edinburgh city centre and two miles east of the Easter Bush campus.

Langhill Farm, Roslin, Midlothian, EH25 9ST

Buses

The nearest bus stops are located just outside the entrance to the farm:

Contact us

The Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies
The University of Edinburgh
Easter Bush
Midlothian EH25 9RG
Tel: +44(0)131 650 6407

Undergraduate Admissions Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies
The University of Edinburgh Easter Bush
Midlothian EH25 9RG
Tel: +44(0)131 651 7305 Fax: +44(0)131 650 6585
Email: vetug@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Admissions Royal (Dick)
School of Veterinary Studies
Tel: +44(0)131 527 4198
Email: vetpgresearch@ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Taught Admissions Royal (Dick)
School of Veterinary Studies
Tel: +44(0)131 242 6460
Email: mvmpg@ed.ac.uk

 

Staff contacts

RolePeoplePhoneemail
Head of School Prof E D Watson +44 (0)131 650 6235 Head.RDSVS@ed.ac.uk
School Administrator Mr R Shone +44 (0)131 650 6125 Richard.Shone@ed.ac.uk
Director of Fundraising Mr D Rider +44 (0)131 6508833 David.Rider@ed.ac.uk
Marketing Manager Mr N Wilson +44 (0)131 650 6261 Neil.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
School Facilities Coordinator Dr T Jones +44 (0)131 650 6260 Tudor.Jones@ed.ac.uk
Site Facilities Manager Mr B Kelly +44 (0)131 650 8754 Brian.Kelly@ed.ac.uk
Director of Veterinary Research Prof D Hume +44 (0)131 527 4457 David.Hume@ed.ac.uk
Director of Veterinary Teaching Organisation Prof S M Rhind +44 (0)131 650 6219 Susan.Rhind@ed.ac.uk
Director of Admissions Dr C Phillips +44 (0)131 650 7984 Claire.Phillips@ed.ac.uk
Director of Taught Postgraduate Programmes Dr Jo-Anne Murray +44 (0)131 650 6259 Jo-Anne.Murray@ed.ac.uk
Veterinary Teaching Office Administrator Mrs L Dalziel +44 (0)131 650 7601 lindsay.dalziel@ed.ac.uk
Director of Student Affairs Dr Geoff Pearson +44 (0)131 650 6137 g.t.pearson@ed.ac.uk
Director of Veterinary Services Mr R H Soutar +44 (0)131 650 7650 Ronnie.Soutar@ed.ac.uk
Clinical Services Coordinator Ms A Brown +44 (0)131 650 7650 Aileen.Brown@ed.ac.uk
       
Clinical Division (Heads of Section)      
       
Vet. Pathology Unit Prof E Milne +44 (0)131 650 6403 Elspeth.Milne@ed.ac.uk
Companion Animal Prof D Gunn-Moore +44 (0)131 650 7650 Danielle.Gunn-Moore@ed.ac.uk
Equine Prof B McGorum +44 (0)131 650 6253 Bruce.McGorum@ed.ac.uk
Oncology and Imaging Prof D Argyle +44 (0)131 650 7650 David.Argyle@ed.ac.uk
Production Animal Mr N Sargison +44 (0)131 445 4468 Neil.Sargison@ed.ac.uk

Related Articles
  • University of Edinburgh Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies
  • University of Glasgow School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Top UK universities for Veterinary Medicine Ranking
  • Veterinary school requirements in Michigan State University College of Vete ...
  • University of Guelph, Ontario Veterinary College

  • Home

    News Calendar

    «    October 2018    »
    1
    2
    3
    4
    5
    6
    7
    8
    9
    10
    11
    12
    13
    14
    15
    16
    17
    18
    19
    20
    21
    22
    23
    24
    25
    26
    27
    28
    29
    30
    31
     

    Popular Articles