Veterinary university colleges and schools in all countries

Used to viewFlash Player 9 or higher.

Show all tags

The University of Forestry, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

The University of Zagreb (1669) is the oldest and biggest university in South-Eastern Europe. Ever since its foundation, the University has been continually growing and developing and now consits of 29 faculties, three art academies and the Centre for Croatian Studies. With its comprehensive programmes and over 50,000 full-time undergraduate and postgraduate students the University is the strongest teaching institution in Croatia. It offers a wide range of academic degree courses leading to Bachelor's, Master's and Doctoral degrees in the following fields: Arts, Biomedicine, Biotechnology, Engineering, Humanities, Natural and Social Sciences. it is also a strongly research-oriented institution, contributing with over 50 percent to the total research output of the country.
The University of Zagreb is the oldest Croatian university and also the oldest university in South East Europe. The university was officially founded 23 September 1669 by Emperor and King Leopold I Habsburg who issued a decree granting the status and privileges of a university to the Jesuit Academy of the Royal Free City of Zagreb. According to that document the study of philosophy in Zagreb acquired a formal and legal status as Neoacademia Zagrabiensis and officially became a public institution of higher education.
The Academy was run by the Jesuits for more than a century when the Jesuit order was dissolved by Pope Clement XIV in 1773. Under a new leadership in 1772 the Academy enrolled a total of 200 students.
In 1776 Empress and Queen Maria Theresa issued a decree founding the Royal Academy of Science (Regia Scientiarum Academia) consisting of three studies or faculties - Philosophy, Theology and Law. The former political-cameral studies became part of the newly established Faculty of Law, and thus were integrated into the Academy. Each of the faculties of the Royal Academy of Sciences had several chairs teaching one or several courses.
The Academy in Zagreb remained until 1874, despite numerous organizational changes, the focal institution of higher education in Croatia, educating most of the members of the Croatian intelligentsia.
Bishop Josip Juraj Strossmayer in 1861 proposed to the Croatian Parliament that a legal basis be established for the founding of the University of Zagreb. During his visit to Zagreb in 1869 the Emperor Franz Joseph signed the Decree on the Establishment of the University of Zagreb. Five years later the Parliament passed the Act of Founding, which was ratified by the Emperor on 5 January 1874. On 19 October 1874 a ceremony was held in the name of the founding of the modern University of Zagreb.
Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Zagreb was founded in 1919 as a four year college. On 7 December 1924 the school was renamed into the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and it became a part of the University of Zagreb. Since then it has been the only faculty of that kind in the Republic of Croatia. The Faculty comprises a number of premises; lecture and teaching rooms, computer laboratories and laboratories and facilities where large and small animals are kept. Well equipped infrastructure provides conditions for scientific research, teaching as well as cooperation with the economic sector (agriculture, biotechnology, animal origin food production). Striving to achieve international high teaching standards the Faculty has been evaluated by EAEVE (European Association for the Establishment of the Veterinary Education). The changes appointed by the EAEVE expert team are included in the new curriculum.
Teaching, scientific and highly skilled activities of the Faculty are based on the work of institutes and clinics integrated since academic year 2005/06 into four departments: Basic and Pre-clinical Sciences Division, Animal Production and Biotechnology Division, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine Clinics and Veterinary Public Health and Food Safety Division. The fifth department, Management, Chairs and Technical Services besides an office manager and accounting, also include IT section, Central library as well as Chair of Foreign Languages and Chair of Physical Training.
Since the beginning of the academic year 2005/06 the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine of the University of Zagreb has been implementing the new curriculum entitled University study of Veterinary medicine. The study lasts for six years (12 semesters) – 360 ECTS points.
Experiences at and recommendations by a number of leading veterinary institutions of higher education in the world, particularly of the European Association of Establishments for Veterinary Education (EAEVE), were acknowledged in drafting the new curriculum. Most teaching such as lessons, seminars, practical work and other forms of consultations are performed within the Faculty tract situated in the south east Zagreb.
The premises include 12 buildings with teaching rooms, student practicum, laboratories and computer laboratories. Completely refurbished large lecture room with the most sophisticate equipment offers an opportunity for multimedia and teleconference presentations. Moreover, better working conditions have been achieved due to involment in a framework of IVSA-Croatia (International Veterinary Students Association) and Equus (Veterinary Medicine Student Association) activities by recently remade student premises.

prof. dr. sc. Aleksa Bjeliš
Phone: +385 1 456 42 55, Fax: +385 1 456 40 08/483 06 02

Head of Rector’s Office
Paula Pavletić, prof.
Phone: +385 1 456 42 55, Fax: +385 1 456 40 08/483 06 02

Related Articles
  • University of Zagreb Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • Lithuanian veterinary academy
  • The University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine of Cluj-Nap ...
  • Lithuanian Veterinary Academy
  • the Vitebsk State Academy of Veterinary Medicine

  • Home

    News Calendar

    «    March 2019    »

    Popular Articles