Veterinary university colleges and schools in all countries

Used to viewFlash Player 9 or higher.

Show all tags

The Ahmadu Bello University Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Ahmadu Bello University as an institution of higher learning and belonging to the first generation of Nigerian Universities has a vision and mission for the provision of an information and communication technology platform of adequate bandwidth and necessary connectivity based on optical fibre as well as creating a Digital Learning Environment (DLE) or a sort of multimedia facility for E-learning. The University hopes to build an intranet which is intended to offer ubiquitous access to information resources to anyone in the University.
When Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) was established in 1962, it was decided to give particular attention to Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine. Therefore, in 1964, the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine was established at ABU following the signing of an agreement between the government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the United States Agency for International Development (USAID) and the Kansas State University (KSU). According to this agreement, KSU/USAID was to provide initial staff and equipment to the new Faculty to enable it develope the following:
a well-equipped Veterinary School to train and supply Veterinarians for Nigeria and the rest of West African countries;
a postgraduate training programme in Veterinary Medicine;
a research programme to improve Animal Health, production and Public Health in Nigerian;
train Nigerians to staff and assume major roles in the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine as soon as possible; and;
advise on facilities and programme for future development and expansion of the Faculty.
When Professor G.K.J.L. Underberg arrived on September 15, 1964 as the first Dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, there were no students, no curriculum, no staff members, and no physical facilities. In November of the same year, sir Norman Alexander the first Vice-Chancellor of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), escorted Dean Underberg to a tall steel structure with a metal roof and a concrete floor and remarked, “this is where you may have your Faculty of Veterinary Medicine”. This former outdoor gymnasium, along with fifty acres of land, was the beginning of the physical plant for the Faculty. Soon buildings were erected (referred to as phase I) to house four Departments of the Faculty: Anatomy, Physiology, Pathology, and Surgery and Medicine. Phase I was formally opened on November 19, 1965 and teaching started a month later.
Up to 1983 the clinical aspect in the DVM programme was handled by the Department of Veterinary Surgery and Medicine. Funding was provided for the running of a Veterinary Teaching Hospital under the Deans office in 1984. In 1988 the Veterinary Teaching Hospital was established fully and a substantive Director appointed in October the same year. Statute 30 of A.B.U. of 1988 spelt out the functions of the Veterinary Teaching Hospital.
The Ahmadu Bello University was founded on October 4, 1962 as the University of Northern Nigeria by the then Northern Region government and was taken over as a Federal Institution in 1975.
As stated in Part (ii) of its Principal law, the University was created to, among other things, produce high level manpower, secure the diffusion of knowledge, research and community service in Northern Nigeria and Nigeria in general, and to function as a center of excellence.
Sir Ahmadu Bello, Premier of Northern Nigeria and first Chancellor of the University had this vision for the University:
"The cardinal principle upon which our University is founded is to impart knowledge and learning to men and women of all races without any distinction on the grounds of race, religious, or political beliefs. This principle is enshrined in the University Law. Only through freedom of membership and freedom of enquiry and research can a University be drawn into the full ferment of thought from which new knowledge comes. Only if it adheres to those freedoms can it become truly great. If our staff and students are drawn from all parts of the world, then the mixture of international minds working together in an atmosphere of academic freedom can produce a University true to its ideal and meanings."
From a modest beginning in 1962, by 2002 the University has been transformed into the largest and the most extensive of all Universities in Sub-Saharan Africa. Currently, the University covers a land area of 7,000 hectares and encompasses twelve academic faculties, a Postgraduate School and 82 academic departments. It also has five Institutes, six specialized centers, a Division of Agricultural Colleges, a Demonstration Secondary School , a Primary School and Extension and Consultancy Services, which provide a variety of services to the University and the wider society. The total students’ enrolment in the University’s degree and sub-degree programs is about 35,000, drawn from every state of the Federation, Africa and the rest of world. There are about 1,400 academic and research staff and 5,000 support staff serving the University. The University has also nurtured two University Colleges , the Abdullahi Bayero College (now Bayero University , Kano ) and the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa College Now Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University of Technology, Bauchi). While 27 tertiary Institutions made up of Colleges of Education, Polytechnics and Schools of Basic of Preliminary Studies are affiliated to it.
Within the 40 years of existence, the University had to a great extent, met the development needs for which it was founded, especially with regards to the production of high-quality graduates and Community Service in Engineering, Environmental Design, the Medical Sciences, Agriculture, the Humanities, Education and the Natural Sciences. The University’s five hundred thousand alumni are found in all parts of Nigeria , Niger Republic , the Cameroon , South Africa , Europe , Asia and the United States . Its products occupy important positions in the public and the private sectors of the economy, at all levels of Government, and in educational Institutions of higher learning in and outside Nigeria.

Academic Office
Room 113, Senate Building
Telephone (069) 550811 

Related Articles
  • The Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto FACULTY OF VETERINARY MEDICINE
  • Internet popularity ranking of veterinary schools and colleges in Nigeria ( ...
  • The University of Nigeria Nsukka Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • The University College, Ibadan Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • Gambia | Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

  • Home

    News Calendar

    «    April 2019    »

    Popular Articles