Veterinary university colleges and schools in all countries

Used to viewFlash Player 9 or higher.

Show all tags

Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária Avenida da Universidade Técnica

The course of Veterinary Medicine at FMV has the objective to prepare the future Veterinarians in the different areas covered by their professional activities, namely: companion animal's clinic, farm animal's clinic, animal preventive medicine and health, animal nutrition and animal production, sanitary inspection, food technology and inspection, veterinary public health and scientific research. 
Besides their technical and scientific competencies, the students should acquire motivation, logical and thinking capacities, information processing skills, innovation, communication and leadership capacities.
With the formal introduction of Bologna Process rules, the course of Veterinary Medicine was amended to an integrated Master degree with a new curriculum comprising 330 ECTS and 5,5 years (or 11 semesters) that is being implemented this year (2007/2008).
The Faculty of Veterinary Medicine was the first institution to prepare veterinarians in Portugal. It was created by the King D. Manuel in 1830 with the decree issued in the "Gazeta de Lisboa" issued on the 7th April. Its first name was "Real Escola de Veterinária" - Royal School of Veterinary.
The veterinary school was fused with the agronomic studies from 1852 to 1910, when it was established as the School of Veterinary Medicine.
In 1918 the school was integrated in the university teaching model and named "Escola Superior de Medicina Veterinária" - High School of Veterinary Medicine. In 1930 along with four more schools, ESMV founds the Technical University of Lisbon - "Universidade Técnica de Lisboa".
Finally in the 1st of August 1989 the school adopts its present name "Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária (FMV)" - Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.
Mission and objectives
The mission of FMV, according with their Statutory Decree (6 February 2003) is to "work for the quality and development of the Country in the area of Animal Sciences, in particular in the area of Veterinary Sciences".

This document states the objectives of FMV as:

  • to give university graduate teaching;
  • to contribute for the scientific progress and technological development;
  • to serve the community with quality;
  • to make available life long learning activities;
  • to attribute academic degrees and honorific titles;
  • to cooperate with other national and international institutions in scientific, technical and cultural matters; and
  • to consolidate the social and cultural growth of its members.
The teaching and non-teaching staff and the students of FMV are deeply enrolled in the achievement of these objectives.
Teaching staff – 70 (57 with a PhD degree)
Other staff – 116 (33 with university degrees)
Management bodies
1. Representative Assembly (AR)
The AR is constituted by delegates elected by the respective groups: teaching staff (15), non-teaching staff (5) and students (15). Among their responsibilities the AR appreciates the general orientation of the school and evaluates the annual reports and plan of activity of FMV. It has the role of destitution of the Directive Council if necessary.
President - Prof. Doctor Maria da Conceição Peleteiro
Vice-President - Prof. Doctor Carlos Andrade Fontes
Secretaries - Doctor Mário Alcântara de Melo (non-teaching staff) and André Filipe Elias da Silva (student)
2. Directive Council (CD)
The CD supervises the administrative, patrimonial and financial management of FMV. Its members are elected by the different groups as following: 2 professors (president and vice-president), 1 other teacher, 1 non-teaching staff and 3 students.
President - Prof. Doctor Luis Manuel Morgado Tavares
Vice-President - Prof. Doctor Ana Cristina Lobo Vilela,
Teaching staff - Prof. Doctor Yolanda Vaz
Non-teaching staff - Maria Felicidade L. Nunes
Students - Joana Grade Costa Almeida, Vasco Daniel Azeitona Martins, Carlota Graça Valente Torres Guerreiro
3. Scientific Council (CC)
The CC is responsible for the scientific policy of FMV, the selection of teaching staff and the definition of the general lines of national and international cooperation. It collaborates with the Pedagogic Council in the establishment of the curricular plan. The CC is constituted by all the teaching staff with a PhD degree and working full time at FMV.
President - Prof. Doctor Rui Manuel Horta Caldeira
Vice-President - Prof. Doctor José Paulo Sales Luis
4. Pedagogic Council (CP)
The CP woks for the good functioning of the courses by orienting the teaching methods and activities. It is composed by 2 professors and 2 students. The CP approves and inform about the all norms such as the annual timetable, discipline programs, evaluation methods and programming of exams. The CP elaborates the curricular plan is in collaboration with the CC. The CP also nominated the teacher coordinating the Library and Documentation Complex.
President - Prof. Doctor Virgílio da Silva Almeida
Vice-President - Prof. Doctor Marília Catarina Leal Ferreira
Prof. Doctor Mário Pinho
Prof. Doctor Luisa Mateus
Students - Joana Filipa Leite, Rui Manuel Santana Cepeda, Luis Nuno Fernandes Barros, Francisco Manuel Aparício da Conceição
5. The Administrative Council is constituted by the President of CD, the Secretary of FMV, or in its place by the Vice-President of CD and by the Head of the Financial Services. Its role, according with the law for the estate institutions with financial and administrative autonomy is the financial management of FMV.
6. The Consultative Council is the body of connection of FMV to the external entities employing veterinarians and using FMV services of diagnosis, consultancy, research and extension. It is composed by the University Consultants proposed by FMV, the Presidents of the management and operative (Departments) bodies, the president of the Students Association and by representatives of public institutions and other related with the professional activity of the Veterinarians.
Operative Units
The Departments are the operative units of FMV, corresponding to vocational areas of teaching and research. They are autonomous in term of internal organisation and development of teaching, research and services activities, including consultancy to public and private entities.
FMV has 4 Departments (Diário da República-II Série, 18 August 2003).
Department of Morphology and Function (DMF)
President: Prof. Doctor Graça Maria Ferreira Dias
Department of Animal Health (DSA)
President: Prof. Doctor Maria da Conceição Peleteiro
Department of Clinics (DC)
President: Prof. Doctor Luis Lopes da Costa
Department of Animal Production and Food Safety (DPASA)
President: Prof. Doctor António Barreto

Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária
Avenida da Universidade Técnica
1300-477 Lisboa
Telefone: (+ 351) 21 365 2800
Fax: (+ 351) 21 365 2810

Related Articles
  • Universidade Federal de Viosa Escola de Medicina Veterinria
  • Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária e Zootecnia da Universidade de S ...
  • Universidade Técnica de Lisboa, Faculdade de Medicina Veterinária
  • Universidade do Porto, Instituto de Cièncias Biomédicas de Abel S ...

  • Home

    News Calendar

    «    July 2018    »

    Popular Articles